Online MEP Training for Working Engineers: How to Compare Classes, Projects and Support

Online MEP Training for Working Engineers: How to Compare Classes, Projects and Support

Facebook
LinkedIn
WhatsApp

If you already work full time, the right MEP course for working professionals is not the one with the biggest placement number on its homepage. It is the one whose live classes fit your week, whose projects look like real design work, and whose fee and hours are published clearly enough to compare.

Working engineer attending an online MEP lesson at a home workstation after office hours

A workable study routine combines scheduled teaching with time to practise independently. AI-generated editorial image.

How to choose an MEP design course while working: check that the provider publishes its fee, live hours and class timetable; that the live slots fall outside your working hours; that recordings cover the classes you miss; that the syllabus covers design calculations as well as drafting for all four disciplines; and that projects are complete buildings, not isolated exercises.

TL;DR

  • Compare like with like: MEP design and drafting courses teach calculations and drawings; BIM courses teach modelling and coordination. This guide covers design and drafting.
  • Use eight criteria: timetable fit, live hours, published fee, recordings, discipline coverage, design software, projects and verifiable proof.
  • Transparency varies widely: of the four providers compared, only one publishes its fee, total live hours and fixed class timetable on the course page.
  • Discipline coverage differs: some providers sell HVAC, plumbing and electrical as separate short courses; others bundle all four disciplines.
  • Treat placement numbers as claims unless you can verify them; every provider here publishes large self-reported figures.

8 Criteria for Comparing MEP Design Courses as a Working Engineer

1
Timetable fit
Live classes you cannot attend are worth nothing. Map the class slots onto your actual work week.
2
Total live hours
Live teaching hours, not "days" or "months", tell you how much teacher time you are buying.
3
Published fee
A fee you can see before a sales call lets you compare cost per live hour honestly.
4
Recording access
Working engineers miss sessions. Long recording access turns a missed class into a delayed one.
5
All four disciplines
HVAC, plumbing, fire fighting and electrical, each with design and drafting, in one program.
6
Design software
Load calculation, duct and pipe sizing and lighting tools, not just CAD, because design roles are calculation roles.
7
Complete projects
A named building taken from calculation to final drawings proves more than "real-world exposure".
8
Verifiable proof
Independent reviews and official listings count; unverified percentages on a sales page do not.

Start Your BIM Career Today

Talk to our BIM training team on WhatsApp — get course structure, duration, fees and placement support in minutes.

Enrol Now →

MEP Design and Drafting Courses Compared

We compared four providers that teach MEP design and drafting: two long-established Indian institutes with online options, one Dubai institute for Gulf-based engineers, and Augmintech. Every figure comes from the provider's own course page.

Swipe the table sideways →

Table 1: MEP design and drafting courses compared (providers' published information, 17 October 2026)
CriterionAugmintech: PG Program in MEP Design and DraftingDhanush MEP Centre (India)SMEClabs: Professional Diploma in MEP & BIM EngineerEdoxi (Dubai): HVAC Design / Electrical Design
FormatOne program, all four disciplinesSeparate 45-day HVAC, plumbing and electrical courses, or a 3-month MEP courseOne diploma covering HVAC, electrical, plumbing and fire fighting, plus BIMSeparate short courses per discipline
Duration6 months30 to 45 days per discipline; MEP course 3 months6 months24 hours per course
Total live hours200Not publishedNot published24 per course
Fee on course page₹48,000 + GST; $750 internationalNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Class timetableFixed: Fri 6-10 pm and Sun 10 am-2 pm ISTBatch start dates and times listed monthlyOnline starts "instantly" on a self-set scheduleWeekday, weekend or evening options
Recordings1,000 daysNot statedNot statedAvailable for review
Design software namedHAP, AutoCAD, McQuay Pipe and Duct Sizers, ASHRAE Duct Fittings Database, psychrometric tools, Elite Software, CGLux, DIALux, Excel calculatorsAutoCAD and Revit MEP appear in batch schedulesAutoCAD, Revit MEP, Revit Architecture, Primavera; FAQ also lists Navisworks, HAP, McQuay sizersAutoCAD MEP, Revit MEP, HAP and others
Projects2 named projects: 8-floor hotel and 4-floor office, each 2 weeks"Project work" listed per course"Real-world projects", not namedResidential, commercial and industrial design projects
Interview prep500+ practice questionsNot statedNot stated for this courseNot stated
CertificateAutodesk and Augmintech certificatesNot statedGovernment skill accreditations citedKHDA-approved certificate
Placement claims (self-reported)15,000+ trained; 50+ placement partners10,000+ placed; 500+ employers100% placement assistance; 100,000+ placementsNot stated

The Transparency Check

The single most useful test for a working engineer is whether you can compare a course before you speak to a counsellor. Here is what each provider publishes on the pages we checked:

Table 2: What is published before you enquire
Published on course page?AugmintechDhanushSMEClabsEdoxi
Fee✓×××
Total live hours✓××✓
Fixed weekly class times✓×××
Recording access period✓×××
Module-by-module hours✓×××
Named capstone projects✓×××

A cross means the item was not on the provider pages we checked, not that the provider does not offer it. Ask for it in writing before you pay.

What the Augmintech PG Program Fee Buys

Because Augmintech publishes both its fee and its hours, its value can be worked out exactly:

Augmintech PG Program, published figures
India₹48,000 / 200 live hrs
₹240 / hr
International750/200livehrs
3.75 / hr
Indian fee excludes GST. Ask other providers for their fee and total live hours to make the same calculation.

The published module hours show where that time goes: HVAC 56 hours of design and 16 of drafting, plumbing 24 and 12, fire fighting 24 and 12, and electrical 24 and 8, followed by the two building projects. That design-heavy split matches what employers advertise: in our analysis of 100 recent MEP job ads, design roles most often asked for AutoCAD, BOQ and estimation, load calculations, sizing calculations and equipment selection.

See the Full PG Program Syllabus

200 live hours, 12 design tools, 2 building projects, Friday and Sunday classes.

View the PG Program

Design and drafting hours by discipline

Module hours stated in this article

DesignDrafting
HVAC72 hours

56 hours design + 16 hours drafting

Plumbing36 hours

24 hours design + 12 hours drafting

Fire fighting36 hours

24 hours design + 12 hours drafting

Electrical32 hours

24 hours design + 8 hours drafting

176 discipline-module hours shown. This chart excludes the building-project portion of the program and uses the figures supplied in the article.

Fitting Classes Around Work

A fixed weekly timetable is easier to protect than flexible batches that shift every month. Augmintech's PG Program runs on Friday 6-10 pm and Sunday 10 am-2 pm IST, leaving weekday evenings and Saturday free. For Gulf-based engineers, 6 pm IST on Friday is 4:30 pm in the UAE and 3:30 pm in Saudi Arabia and Qatar, where Friday is a weekend day. Edoxi's classroom option suits engineers in Dubai who prefer in-person teaching, and Dhanush lists monthly online batch times, so check that each batch fits before you commit.

Read the class times in your time zone

The Friday and Sunday timetable stated in this guide

India

IST · UTC+5:30

Friday6–10 pm
Sunday10 am–2 pm

UAE

GST · UTC+4

Friday4:30–8:30 pm
Sunday8:30 am–12:30 pm

Saudi Arabia / Qatar

UTC+3

Friday3:30–7:30 pm
Sunday7:30–11:30 am

Time conversions for the timetable quoted in the article. Confirm your batch schedule and reserve separate time for assignments and project practice.

Proof You Can Check Yourself

Independently verifiable (Augmintech)
  • Autodesk Partner Finder lists Augmintech Education Private Limited as a global EdTech company providing BIM and MEP training.
  • Trustpilot shows a TrustScore of 4.4 from 135 reviews (checked 17 October 2026).
  • Fee, hours, timetable, modules and projects are all published on the course page.
Self-reported by providers
  • Augmintech: 15,000+ professionals trained, 50+ placement partners.
  • Dhanush: 10,000+ students placed, 500+ employers.
  • SMEClabs: 100% placement assistance, 100,000+ placements.

Apply the same test to every provider: separate what you can check from what you are asked to believe, and ask for independent reviews of the specific course you are buying.

Which Course Type Suits You?

An all-in-one program like Augmintech's PG suits you if you...

  • want design calculations and drafting across all four disciplines
  • need fixed classes outside office hours, with long recording access
  • want to compare price and hours before speaking to anyone
  • want two complete building projects for your portfolio

A different option may suit you if you...

  • need only one discipline quickly: short courses such as Dhanush's 45-day modules or Edoxi's 24-hour courses
  • prefer classroom teaching in Dubai with a KHDA-approved certificate
  • want Revit modelling in the same program: SMEClabs bundles BIM; Augmintech offers Revit MEP as a separate course

BIM-led MEP programs focused on Revit modelling and coordination are a different category from design and drafting, and are best compared separately.

Engineer reviewing HVAC and electrical drawings alongside project calculations

When reviewing course projects, look for calculations and drawings that belong to the same building. This illustrates the review process, not an actual student submission. AI-generated editorial image.

7 Questions to Ask Any Institute Before You Pay

  1. What is the total fee, including GST, and what are the EMI terms?
  2. How many hours are live, and how many are recorded content?
  3. What are the exact class days and times in my time zone, for the whole program?
  4. How long can I access recordings after the course ends?
  5. Which design software is taught hands-on, beyond AutoCAD?
  6. Can I see a sample project a past student completed?
  7. What does placement support include, specifically, and for how long?

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is the best MEP course for working professionals?
Choose on timetable fit, live hours, discipline coverage, design software, projects and a fee you can verify. Among the design and drafting courses compared here, Augmintech's PG Program is the only one that publishes its fee (₹48,000 + GST), total live hours (200) and fixed weekly class times on its course page.
Can I do an MEP design course while working full time?
Yes, if the live classes fall outside your working hours and recordings cover what you miss. Budget for practice time as well, especially during project modules.
Is MEP design different from BIM MEP training?
Yes. Design and drafting courses teach load calculations, sizing, equipment selection and drawings. BIM courses teach Revit modelling, coordination and clash detection. Many engineers learn design first and add BIM later.
Are online MEP courses accepted for Gulf jobs?
Employers hire on skills, experience and, in some countries, professional registration. In our analysis of 100 MEP job ads, no Gulf ad required a particular training certificate; they asked mainly for site, delivery and local experience.

Not Sure Which Program Fits Your Role?

Talk to an advisor about the PG Program in MEP Design and Drafting.

Book an advisor call

Sources

  • Augmintech, PG Program in MEP Design and Drafting course page (fee, hours, timetable, modules, projects, software, recordings), 17 October 2026.
  • Dhanush MEP Centre, mepcentre.com (course list, durations, batch schedule, placement claims).
  • SMEClabs, MEP course page (Professional Diploma in MEP & BIM Engineer: duration, modules, software, modes, placement claims).
  • Edoxi, MEP design courses in Dubai (course hours, delivery modes, KHDA-approved certificate).
  • Autodesk Partner Finder, Augmintech Education Private Limited.
  • Trustpilot, Augmintech reviews (17 October 2026).
  • Augmintech analysis of 100 MEP job advertisements (India and the Gulf, 17 October 2026).

This article was last reviewed on 17 October 2026. Course details change; confirm current information with each provider.

Ready to start your engineering career journey?

Investing in structured training is one of the best ways to set yourself apart in MEP engineering. Our Courses cover HVAC, electrical and plumbing design in depth, plus tools like HAP software — the exact skillset that sets you apart in a competitive field.

Augmintech-logo-white

This Exclusive PG Program will Skyrocket your Career!

*Limited Seats Available